Grace Edwards

Freelance writer – creative – media-maker

Mod Dance Company’s Jessica Franke

>Today, as part of the Mod Dance Company series of Q&As featured here this week, let me introduce you to dancer Jessica Franke. 

In 2007, aged just 16, Jess began her full-time studies at the Western Australian Academy of Performing Arts (WAAPA), working alongside such choreographers as Nanette Hassall, Alice Lee Holland, and Vicki Van Hout. Since completing her Bachelor of Arts in Dance, Jess has performed in Sue Peacock’s The Tipping Point and Lucy Guerin’s remount of Zero.Zero, and has also previously taken on secondments at Sydney Dance Company and Carte Blanche in Bergen, Norway.

Following a short-term contract with Sydney Dance Company in March 2010 for the company’s ‘New Creations‘ season, her first venture into the world of professional dance, Jess is delighted to hold a contract with Mod Dance Company for the 2011 ‘Suite Synergy’ tour.

 Dance styles: Classical, Contemporary, Jazz, Tap, Hip hop (have tried just about everything).

How were you inspired into the world of dance? 
Mother’s intuition, she saw me bopping to music as a baby and felt she had no choice!

How would you describe daily working routine? 
I could write a list with times and events but I thought I would answer this in a more rounded way. The day varies depending on what’s required, how tired or energised I am, how my body is feeling, or how close a performance is.  Though I begin every day with a massive breakfast, a much needed cup of tea, and then take things from there…

How do you enjoy your time away from dancing?
I love to relax and spend time with those I care about. I love having dinners and a sneaky wine with my boyfriend Daniel, or having a girls’ night watching movies and indulging on a tad too much chocolate with my mum. I’m a big food buff, and love to cook new things as much as I can.

Favourite dance work:
Coincidentally, it’s actually Director’s Cut by Graeme Murphy. I saw it live when I had just decided that dance was something I wanted to do as a career, and the work really got my imagination flying. I’m so excited to be working with the man himself.

Favourite dancers/choreographers:
Sue Peacock, Lucy Guerin, Rafael Bonachela, Akram Khan, Jiri Kylian, Graeme Murphy, Bruno Heynderickx, the list goes on…

What do you love most about dance?
The precision, the never ending work and drive for perfection, and the odd way that when you do perform something the way you envisioned it should be in a perfect world, its like you’re flying…

What is the best piece of advice you have ever been given?
Work with what God gave you, you are the way you are for a reason. Don’t waste your gifts wishing for someone else’s.

My dream dancer would be… a dancer who draws the audience’s attention even if they are behind the curtain…

Most challenging dance experience? Six Breaths, by Rafael Bonachela.

Happiest moment? When my Dad got to see me perform professionally for the first time:)

If I wasn’t a dancer, I’d be a….. Still figuring that one out!

Something people might not know about me is that…. I can’t put a kettle down after using it without refilling it.

Mod Dance Company presents Graeme Murphy’s Suite Synergy 23-26 March 2011 at the Arts Centre, State Theatre; Wed – Saturday 8pm, Thursday & Saturday 2pm.
For tickets, visit theartscentre.com.au, 1300 182 183 or the Arts Centre Box Office. Following Melbourne, SUITE SYNERGY will be performed in Sydney, Perth, Darwin, Gold Coast and Adelaide.
Visit www.suitesynergy.com.au for full tour information
2 comments on “Mod Dance Company’s Jessica Franke

  1. The Job Ware
    May 18, 2011

    >My dream when I was a little kid to perform ballet dance, who can draws the audience's attention even if they were behind the curtain, but I don't have the chance to do it. Good JOB Jessica you're inspiring other for this kind of passion.

  2. Syed Muddassar
    December 8, 2011

    There are so many peoples follow your blog, Fabulous!!! you have done a great work…Dance Shoes Ballroom Dance shoes

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 10, 2011 by in dance, Graeme Murphy, Jessica Franke, Mod Dance Company, Suite Synergy and tagged , .
