Grace Edwards

Freelance writer – creative – media-maker

Mod Dance Company

>

Over the next week, I’ll be featuring Q&As with dancers from the newly-established Mod Dance Company in Sydney, who are gearing up for their world debut, Suite Synergy, in March 2011 at Melbourne’s Arts Centre. Today, I introduce to you company member Laura Trevors.
Born in Cairns, Laura was invited to study on a scholarship at the Sheila Laing Dance Centre in Adelaide before graduating from the West Australian Academy of Performing Arts with an Advanced Diploma in Dance in 2004. Her first professional engagement was as a principal dancer with the Tasmanian Classical Ballet Company, with whom she toured as part of the company’s productions of Swan Lake and The Nutcracker.  
Laura has worked extensively with Event Theatre Australia, performing in Australia, India and Hong Kong and has held contracts with Leigh Warren & Dancers, the West Australian Ballet Company, and Opera Australia. The talented dancer has also featured in the Australian film Beautiful, released by Kojo Pictures and the South Australian Film corporation.

How were you enter the world of dance?
My first dancing teacher Kathy Harris was super inspiring and made learning to dance such a fabulous experience.  I made a decision in my early teens that it was what I wanted to do and Kathy put everything into making my dream happen.  I’ve been lucky enough to have been encouraged and to have been given plenty of opportunities from everyone I’ve worked with throughout my training and career. The list of people who have inspired me is endless.


How would you describe your daily working routine?
It’s an enjoyable one!  I guess I thrive a little off having a routine, so I start each day with my own personal warm up of a ‘floor barre’ prior to a company class and day in and out of rehearsals. 
How do you enjoy your time away from dancing? 
Everyone enjoys their time away from ‘work’, so to speak.  I’m lucky enough to have a job doing what I love, but it’s healthy to have some down time.  I like to spend it with friends – not talking about dancing! I actually love entertaining, so any chance to put up a cheese platter, drink wine and play Jenga (I have a secret love of board games)  with friends is ideal.  That or any time spent in the SUNSHINE!
Favourite dance work:
I’m going to say Swan Lake.   The music, the dancing and the story. It’s a true classic, I love the original and have loved the many adaptations and modern choreographic interpretations of it. Love Matthew Bourne’s version.
Favourite dancers/choreographers: 
I’m a fan of Natalie Weir’s work.  I was lucky enough to work with her during the Genee Awards that were held in Sydney and then perform a few roles in one of her works Proof Sheets 1-8 that she had choreographed on Expressions Dance Company but that was remounted by Justin Rutzou in my graduating year at WAAPA.
I also love Graeme Murphy’s work – I have been privileged to have performed his choreography in two opera works he created for Opera Australia, Turnadot and Aida.  I’m very much looking forward to learning and performing Suite Synergy with Mod, I do believe it’s going to be my most challenging yet rewarding dance experience!
What do you love most about dance?
The way I can be completely absorbed in it.
What is the best piece of advice you have ever been given?
To not ‘think’ so much!
What has been the happiest moment in your dance career so far?
Having my family surprise me by turning up in Tasmania in my second year dancing with the Tasmanian Classical Ballet.  I was performing as Clara/Sugar Plum in The Nutcracker and they hadn’t seen me dance in years, it was so excited to have them there.
My other happiest moment – being offered a contract with Mod!! I’ve spent a long time chasing dance jobs here, there and everywhere, and to finally have someone come to me with an offer was a very proud moment indeed.
If I wasn’t a dancer, I’d be a…. 
Florist – I love giving flowers and having fresh flowers in my home.  I guess flowers are similar to dancing.  They’re living art! 
Mod Dance Company presents Graeme Murphy’s Suite Synergy 23-26 March 2011 at the Arts Centre, State Theatre; Wed – Saturday 8pm, Thursday & Saturday 2pm.
For tickets, visit theartscentre.com.au, 1300 182 183 or the Arts Centre Box Office. Following Melbourne, SUITE SYNERGY will be performed in Sydney, Perth, Darwin, Gold Coast and Adelaide.
Visit www.suitesynergy.com.au for full tour information
One comment on “Mod Dance Company

  1. BALLET NEWS
    February 8, 2011

    >totally fascinating – thank you !!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 7, 2011 by in dance, Graeme Murphy, Laura Trevors, Mod Dance Company and tagged , .
