Grace Edwards

Freelance writer – creative – media-maker

I know it’s wrong but I love

Here’s the general intro and my section from the latest cover story on Trespass Magazine, which you can view in full here. Please don’t judge me too harshly!

It is Love Week at Trespass and we have asked some film enthusiasts to look deep inside their artistic souls and let out their darkest filmic secrets. Taking the immortal words of Millie Jackson – ‘if loving you is wrong, I don’t want to be right’ as our mantra – it is time to find out who and/or what these movie-buffs know is so wrong, but can’t help loving anyway…

Grace Edwards
(Trespass Contributor)

I know it’s wrong, but I love…

* The Scream franchise – He dies, she dies, everyone dies; except poor teenager Sidney Prescott, of course. Much to my dismay, watching a Halloween mask-clad murderer leave scores of students dead in pools of their own blood seems to do it for me. Isn’t human nature fascinating?

* Leave It to Beaver (1997) – There’s nothing wrong with loving this remake of the 1950’s feel-good series about a curious but naïve boy named Theodore “Beaver” Cleaver; as long as you’re under the age of twelve. In my defence, the little boy who plays Beaver is absolutely adorable. Those wide eyes, those goofy antics, how could you not love him?

* Species – Gorgeous, often-naked, killer alien Sil (Natasha Henstridge) escapes from a lab and scientists try to track her down before she mates with a human male. Not hard to see why the boys like this film. Though I hate to admit it, I see the appeal too. Blood, sex and tonnes of fight scenes add up to one very successful C-grade sci-fi movie.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 8, 2010 by in film, Grace Edwards, Trespass Magazine.
