Grace Edwards

Freelance writer – creative – media-maker

Rachmaninoff’s Piano Concerto No. 2

Recently, due to my ongoing task of creating programme notes for the Parkville Symphony, I was fortunate enough to write about Rachmaninoff’s Piano Concerto No.2. Consequently I have had a perfect excuse to play the Second Concerto continuously over the last week.

There is no doubt about it. I am in love..<3

Many moons ago now, I heard this Concerto without knowing its name or composer, and the intensity of its opening coupled with the unrivalled lyricism of its melodic lines moved me to consciously file it away in my memory for future reference.

But this week, I have made an important decision. I have decided to share my love for this work of musical genius with the rest of the world! If you love Rachmaninoff’s Second Piano Concerto too, please leave a comment! xo

One comment on “Rachmaninoff’s Piano Concerto No. 2

  1. Grace
    July 19, 2009

    From FB:Nathan Byrne: I LOVE THAT CONCERTO!!!! It's actually my favourite piece of music full stop. Such an incredible concerto. :)Diane Loi: awesome!!! You have to play for us some time. Hmmm just realised I've never heard you play! XDPascale Strudwick: Love Rachmaninoff! Especially His second concerto. I could never get my fingers to behave so I just listen to the recording.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 19, 2009 by in arts, music, Rachmaninoff.
